Trump administration reimposes all Iran sanctions lifted under nuclear deal

The Trump administration on Friday announced the restoration of the final round of sanctions on Iran that were lifted under the 2015 Iran nuclear deal — though there will be some exemptions for eight countries.

The sanctions cover Iran’s shipping, financial and energy sectors. They’re the second batch of penalties reimposed since President Donald Trump withdrew from the deal in May.

The sanctions will target Iran’s crude oil exports and will penalize countries that don’t stop importing oil and foreign companies that do business with certain Iranian entities.

Trump administration reimposes all Iran sanctions lifted under nuclear deal (3).jpg

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said that the sanctions are intended to fundamentally change the Iranian regime’s behavior. But the administration also announced that there would be eight significant reduction exemptions (SREs) for countries that haven’t completely eliminated oil imports from Iran. The waivers will last for a six-month period and will be re-evaluated after that time is up. Those exempted include Italy, India, Japan and South Korea.

President Trump has repeatedly blasted the deal, which does not do enough to end Iran’s aggression in the region. At a U.N. Security Council meeting in September, Trump defended his administration’s decision to pull out of the Obama-era deal, and blasted the “horrible, one-sided deal [that] allowed Iran to continue its path toward a [nuclear] bomb and gave the regime a cash lifeline when they needed it the most.”

“They were in big big trouble,” he said. “They needed cash, we gave it to them.”

Trump said that in addition to the November sanctions, the U.S. “will pursue additional sanctions, tougher than ever before, to counter the entire range of Iran’s malign conduct.”

“Any individual or entity who fails to comply with these sanctions will face severe consequences,” he warned.